Grand Slam winners and Champions Cup finalists Caelan Doris, Hugo Keenan, Johnny Sexton, and Andrew Porter are joined by World Rugby Player of the year nominee Bundee Aki on the shortlist for the 2023 Guinness Rugby Writers Ireland Men’s XV’s Player of the Year Award. 

Following a challenging start to their 2023 campaign for an inexperienced Irish Women’s XVs, resilience and determination became the resounding character trait of several players including this year's Women’s XV’s player of the year nominees; Sam Monaghan, Nichola Fryday, Neve Jones, Deirbhile Nic a Bháird, and Aoife Dalton, who topped their season by winning the inaugural WXV3 tournament in Dubai last October. 

The Ireland men’s XV team, Munster’s men’s team, Ireland U20’s, Ireland women’s 7s, and Ireland men’s 7’s have all been nominated for the prestigious Dave Guiney Team of the Year accolade. The Ireland men’s XV team claimed their 4th Grand Slam title in March, while the Ireland U20s team won their 5th Grand Slam and reached the U-20 World Cup Final, showcasing the success at all levels on the international stage this season. The Munster men’s XV have also been nominated for taking home URC silverware for the first time in 12 years, following their United Rugby Championship campaign, after 3 successive away victories in the Quarter Final, Semi Final and Final, where they came over the Stormers in South Africa.  

Rounding out the nominees for the Team of the Year; the Ireland women’s 7s team had a historic season securing qualification for Paris 2024, while the final nominees, the Irish men’s 7’s secured their Olympic spot for their 2nd Olympics, having picked up bronze in the Rugby 7s World Cup. Whilst the preparations for the Olympics remain the focus, it has been a hugely positive year for the Irish 7’s programme. The nominees for Ireland men’s 7s Player of the year include Mark Roche, Harry McNulty, and Jack Kelly. The Women’s 7’s Player of the Year nominees see last year’s winner Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe returning to the shortlist alongside teammates Lucy Mulhall and Emily Lane. 



List of 2023 Guinness Rugby Writers Award Nominees -  

- Men's Player of the Year  

Bundee Aki 

Caelan Doris 

Hugo Keenan 

Johnny Sexton 

Andrew Porter 


- Women's Player of the Year  

Sam Monaghan 

Nichola Fryday 

Neve Jones 

Deirbhile Nic a Bháird 

Aoife Dalton 


- Dave Guiney Team of the Year 

Ireland senior men’s XV 

Munster men’s XV 

Ireland U20s 

Ireland women’s 7s 

Ireland men’s 7s 


 - Men's 7’s Player of the Year 

Mark Roche 

Harry McNulty 

Jack Kelly 


- Women's 7’s Player of the Year 

Emily Lane 

Lucy Mulhall 

Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe 


Latest Sport