Corofin are Galway Senior Football champions for the first time since 2019.

They have dethroned the Galway and Connacht champions Moycullen.

Tony Gill's second half goal proved pivital in the tie, giving Kevin Johnson's men a six point lead.

Moycullen did hit the net late on and with the last play of the game Dessie Conneely had a chance to level but his free went over.

Johnson has now won county senior championships in three Connacht counties, adding the Galway title to Mayo (Ballintubber) and Sligo (Tourlestrane) honours.

Full time from Pearse Stadium:

Corofin 1-11 Moycullen 1-9


Latest Sport