Ballina Stephenites have won their first Moclair Cup in 16 years.

They beat Breaffy in a low scoring encounter today by two points.

The Stephenites were 0-4 0-1 up at half time, with points from Evan Regan (0-3) and Conor McStay.

Breaffy had opened the scoring through Conor O'Shea after two minutes - their sole first half point.

O'Shea got his and Breaffy's second after the restart with James Minogue making it 0-4 0-3.

Frank Irwin got another for Ballina on 38 minutes from a placed ball.

Aidan O'Shea got his only score of the day after 42 minutes to bring it back to a one point game.

Breaffy pushed to get an equaliser but it came to no avail.

Luke Feeney hit his first and last for Ballina to seal victory in stoppage time.

The hunt for a Moclair Cup goes on for Breaffy, while Ballina have now claimed their 37th crown.

Full time score from Hastings Insurance MacHale Park:

Ballina Stephenites 0-6 Breaffy 0-4



Latest Sport