Sunday May 15  


Connacht IFC Final  


Leitrim v Roscommon; Tuam Stadium, 2pm  


A repeat of the 2021 Final sees Leitrim, the holders, take on Roscommon.  

The Rossies are still basking in the warm afterglow of Lidl NFL Division 3 glory – but Leitrim had the upper hand when the sides met in the round-robin stage of the provincial competition.   

Roscommon were winners of the Connacht Intermediate crown last back in 2019 and they’ll be quietly confident of bridging a three-year gap.  

Laura Fleming will lead the Roscommon charge from midfield as captain, with Aisling Hanly a proven score-getter in attack.  

Leitrim will look to the scoring power of Michelle Guckian as they look to retain their provincial crown.  

A former team goalkeeper, Guckian scored 1-24 in the Lidl National League and was named on the Division 4 Team of the League.  


Leitrim (v Roscommon): M Monaghan; E Quinn, S Tighe, S McCartan; C Tyrrell, C Owens (capt.), C Le Guen; M McGovern, N Tighe; L Dowd, M Guckian, E Bruen; R McHugh, L Fox, S Quinn.  


Roscommon (v Leitrim): H Cummins; S Kenny, R Fitzmaurice, S McVeigh; R Wynne, N Feeney, A McAuliffe; C Conway, L Fleming (capt.); E Irwin, M McHugh, N McHugh; N Shanagher, A Hanly, F Tully.  



Connacht SFC Final  


Galway v Mayo; Tuam Stadium, 4pm  


An intriguing encounter lies in store as old rivals Galway and Mayo go head to head for Senior silverware in Connacht.  

When the sides last met in a Connacht decider, back in 2019, Galway won a replay at the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick to land a third successive title.  

Galway have had the better of the recent rivalry against the green and red, with Mayo landing Connacht crown in 2016 and 2011.  

Since 2009, that’s the sum total of Mayo’s provincial silverware haul, with Galway hoovering up the rest.  

The four-in-a-row chasing Tribeswomen received a major boost during the Lidl National League when former team captain and ace forward Tracey Leonard returned to the fold.  

Leonard scored two goals in that 2019 replay but when these counties met most recently in the Lidl National League, Mayo ran out 6-6 to 2-8 winners.  

Sinead Walsh and Lisa Cafferky netted a brace each on that occasion and both are named in the Mayo forward line for Sunday’s clash.  

Galway will look to Leonard’s scoring nous and experience in the full-forward line, where she’s named alongside former underage stars Ailish Morrissey and Andrea Trill.  

Morrissey has already enjoyed a brilliant 2022 as she landed a Yoplait O’Connor Cup title with University of Limerick, after securing All-Ireland Club glory with Kilkerrin-Clonberne.  


Galway (v Mayo): A Griffin; S Molloy, S Ní Loingsigh (capt.), E Gavin; C Cooney, N Ward, K Geraghty; A Davoren, L Ward; L Coen, O Divilly, L Finnegan; A Trill, A Morrissey, T Leonard.   


Mayo (v Galway): Aisling Tarpey; Éilis Ronayne, Roisin Flynn, Danielle Caldwell; Ciara Needham, Fiona McHale, Kathryn Sullivan (capt.); Sinead Cafferky, Aoife Geraghty; Sinead Walsh, Shauna Howley, Sarah Mulvihill; Lisa Cafferky, Ciara Whyte, Hannah Reape.