The 2022 Electric Ireland GAA Rising Stars Hurling Team of the Year has been announced.

This season’s performances once again demonstrated the outstanding talent and skill on offer in the Electric Ireland Higher Education Championships as UL claimed their seventh Fitzgibbon Cup with a last gasp victory over NUIG.

Following their Fitzgibbon Cup success, the team features six players from champions, UL, while beaten finalists NUIG have four representatives on the team.

Beaten semi-finalists GMIT and IT Carlow have two representatives each.

There is also one player from Electric Ireland Ryan Cup Champions, MTU Kerry, represented.

There are six players on the team from Galway and they include

  1. Darach Fahy – GMIT, Ardrahan, Galway
  2. TJ Brennan – UL, Clarinbridge, Galway  
  3. Jack Fitzpatrick, NUIG, Killimordaly, Galway
  4. Cianán Fahy – GMIT, Ardrahan, Galway
  5. John Fleming – NUIG, Meelick Eyrecourt, Galway
  6. Evan Niland - NUIG, Clarinbridge, Galway

The Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Rising Stars Football Team of the Year will be unveiled on Monday, the 21st of March, with the Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Rising Star Hurling and Football Player of the Year announced on April the 4th.

These awards will acknowledge one outstanding performance from this year’s Fitzgibbon and Sigerson Cup Championships.