Mayo Motorsport Club members are out in force this weekend for the Galway Summer Rally which takes place this Sunday 25th August.  The event is based in Gort and consists of three loops with three stages in each.   Belcarra’s Barry Cuffe with Shane O’Brien on the notes are competing in class 1 in a Ford Escort Mk 2; Keith McFadden with Sara McFadden on the notes are out in a Honda Civic Type R, they compete in class 3.   In class 7, Paul McGee is co-driving for Ian Barrett in a Subaru S12B.

There are two Mayo crews competing in class 11F; Gordon Nimmo with Chrystal Culkeen on the notes compete in their Supermacs Ford Fiesta, while David Healy with Stephen McGing on the notes are out in their Honda EG6.  In class 11R, John McCarthy is co-driving for Florian Niedermueller in a Toyota Corolla; in class 13R John Warren and Ruthann O’Connor are competing in their Toyota Corolla Twincam.

Jason Murphy with Matthew Murphy co-driving are out in their class 16 Honda Civic; also competing in a class 16 Honda Civic is Derek McCarthy who is co-driving for Stephen Reynolds. 

Mayo Motorsport club also has many members travelling to Galway to marshal and officiate at the event over the weekend, best of luck to all.

Meanwhile today on the Ards Peninsula, Co. Down at the Kirkistown Motor Racing Circuit, Foxfords’s Seán Hynes is competing in two races in the Formula Sheane Championship.  After qualifying yesterday Sean is now third on the grid for both races. Best of luck to Sean.


Latest Sport