Ballina’s Liam McHale is to be inducted into the Basketball Ireland Hall of Fame at a special ceremony in May.

Basketball Ireland will celebrate its 75th anniversary in 2020 and, as part of the celebrations marking the history of the game, the organisation announced late last year that the Basketball Ireland Hall of Fame would be relaunched in 2019.

Currently there are six B.I. Hall of Fame members – Fr. Joe Horan, Harry Boland, Tom Collins, Liam McGinn, Danny O’Connor and Paul Meany.

Nominations were made by the public, with an independent nominations committee announcing the six final recipients who are: Siobhan Caffrey (nee Stapleton), Danny Fulton, Kelvin Troy, Susan Moran, Liam McHale and the late Paudie O’Connor.

Chairman of the Board of Basketball Ireland, Fran Ryan, and President of Basketball Ireland, Theresa Walsh also extended their congratulations to the six recipients and their families.



Latest Sport