There were dramatic scenes at the count centre at the TY Royal in Castlebar last night following the conclusion of the Swinford count.

Sinn Féin's Gerry Murray retained his seat following the third count, with three seats remaining.

After the fifth count, there were four candidates remaining for the final spots, which finished as so:

Adrian Forkan FF - 1668

John Caulfield FF - 1641

Neil Cruise FG - 1637

John Sheahan SF - 1636

With one vote separating John Sheahan and a place on Mayo County Council, the Sinn Féin candidate exercised his right to call for a recount.

The recount takes place shortly, and will be LIVE on 96.1fm and online on

You can also listen on the Midwest Radio App. 


Latest News