10 seats remain to be filled on Mayo county council today, as the count for Ballina is to get underway from 9am where 6 candidates will be elected to take their seats.

Meanwhile a recount is set to begin for the Swinford electoral area from 10am following a close race last night.


Outgoing Sinn Fein Councillor Gerry Murray was elected on the 3rd count by the Swinford electorate yesterday.

Following count 5, there were 4 candidates seeking 3 seats with only 1 vote separating outgoing councillor FG Neil Cruise and candidate John Sheahan of SF, which would have seen Cruise retain his seat by one single.

A request was then made by John Sheahan for a recount due to the closeness of the race and it was decided that would take place this morning.



Elsewhere the first candidates to be elected to Mayo County Council was in Claremorris, where Independent Patsy O'Brien was deemed elected following the first count.

Richard Finn was the next councillor to retain his seat on the 3rd count.

Next to be elected was Fine Gael's Alma Gallagher who was elected on the 6th count. She becomes the first female councillor to be elected in the Claremorris electoral area.

Outgoing councillor Damien Ryan of Fianna Fail also retained his seat on the 6th count.

Following the 7th count, both Fine Gael's Michael Burke and Aontu's Paul Lawless were deemed elected. Lawless becomes the first Aontu party member to take a either a council or Dail seat in the county.



It took until early yesterday morning for all 7 seats in the Castlebar electoral area to be filled, following long nights of counts in the count centre in the TF Royal in the county town.

Both Fine Gael's Ger Deere and Independent councillor Michael Kilcoyne were elected on the first count.

Counts then went on for a significant length of time, with no one candidate reaching a quota while candidates on the lower end of the votes were eliminated and their votes were redistributed.

It wasn't until the 11th count that saw Fianna Fail's Blackie Gavin retain his seat.

On count 13, Fianna Fail's Al McDonnell claimed his seat while on count number 14, the remaining 3 seats were taken, namely by Independent Harry Barrett, Fine Gael's Cyril Burke and his party colleague Donna Sheridan.



Last night, the 4 seats in Westport were taken.

Independent Ireland's Chris Maxwell was the first to take his seat there on the second count.

Fine Gael's Peter Flynn retained his seat on count 4, while on count 5 both Fianna Fail's Brendan Mulroy and Indpendent John O'Malley retained their seats on Mayo County Council.



Three outgoing councillors retained their seats in the Belmullet electoral area yesterday.

Fianna Fail's Paul McNamara was elected following count 4 alongisde Fine Gael's Gerry Coyle.

Fianna Fail's Sean Carey retained his seat following count 5.



Latest News