A RECOUNT has been called in the Mayo County Council Election for the Swinford LEA.

Sinn Féin candidate John Sheahan finished after the fifth count with 1,636 votes, one short of Fine Gael's Neil Cruise.

Thus, Sheahan missed out on the final seat in the Swinford area.

Gerry Murray was elected on the third count with 1,818 votes.

Here is how the voting finished after the fifth count for those bidding for the final three spots in the Swinford area:

Adrian Forkan FF - 1,668

John Caulfield FF - 1,641

Neil Cruise FG - 1,637

John Sheahan SF - 1,636

The recount will take place tomorrow morning, as will the beginning of the Ballina count. 


Latest News