Two new councillors will take their seats in the Claremorris electoral area following the conclusion of tonight's local election count.

Independent Patsy O'Brien was deemed elected following the first count on 2738 votes.

Richard Finn was the next councillor to retain his seat. The Independent councillor was elected on the 3rd count with 2047 votes.

Next to be elected was Fine Gael's Alma Gallagher who was elected on the 6th count with 2041 votes. She becomes the first female councillor to be elected in the Claremorris electoral area.

Following the 7th count, both Fine Gael's Michael Burke and Aontu's Paul Lawless were deemed elected on 1777 and 1803 votes respectively, as there wouldn't have been a sufficent surplus to see any remaining candidates elected.


Latest News