The first county counicillor for 2024 has been elected.

Independent Thomas Welby has exceeded the quota and returns to Galway County Council.

From the tally, it looked as though all four outgoing cllrs in the Connemara North constituency would be re-elected.

Welby scored a first count vote of 1,758 taking him over the quota set of 1,591.

It is expected that Seamus Walsh will exceed the quota, as he is just 66 votes behind it heading into the second count.

With just over 1,400 votes, Fine Gael’s Eileen Mannion and Fianna Fáil’s Gerry King could be the next to join.

(pic Irish Independent)


Latest News