The Minister for Rural and Community Development, Heather Humphreys has announced the largest ever expansion of Ireland’s National Walks Scheme with 62 new trails announced across 17 counties.

It includes 5 trails on two offshore islands – Inis Meáin and Oileán Chléire, and  is part of a phased expansion that will see the number of trails on the Walks Scheme nationally increase from 80 to 150 over the next two years. The initiative is designed to boost outdoor recreation and rural tourism and is a key element of Embracing Ireland’s Outdoors, the National Outdoor Recreation Strategy.

Under the Walks Scheme, funding is provided to farmers and other landholders to maintain the walking trails that go through their holdings. The Scheme is operated by the Department of Rural and Community Development in conjunction with Local Development Companies.

 Two walks in Mayo have been selected – The Nature Walk Kilmaine and Newtown Forest Trail, both developed by South West Mayo Development Company CLG

In Sligo  - Devil’s Chimney trail developed by Sligo Leader Partnership has been included, and Roscommon Leader Partnership’s Ballintubber Rambling Trail in county Roscommon.

In total three island walks on Galway’s Inis Meáin have been included, and four of Leitrim Development Company’s Walks in county Leitrim.








Latest News