The Federation of Irish Sport has today announced the winners of the 2023 Volunteers in Sport Awards proudly supported by the National Network of 29 Local Sports Partnerships.

Catherine Moore from Greenfields Hockey Club won the Galway award, Frank Grehan from St Aidan’s GAA club won in Roscommon and Kay Curley won Sligo’s award with Sligo Tennis club.

The recipient of the award for Co. Mayo is Deirdre Maloney Reid of Moy Davitts GAA Club, who has volunteered for over a decade. Deirdre is being recognised for her role in setting up a club for children with additional needs.

From the outset, Deirdre worked with Mayo Sports Partnership and other groups to organise volunteers, jerseys and equipment to help run the club. Deirdre herself attends all of the sessions and has inspired some of the older children to help with the running of the project.

The club has provided a much-needed resource for children with additional needs and has also been a great opportunity for parents to meet and chat with one another. Deirdre has helped to develop a much needed resource in the club.

Midwest Radio’s Rian Bailey congratulated Deirdre on the award, who gave more details on the project:



Latest News