Minister for Rural and Community Development, Heather Humphreys and Minister of State Joe O’Brien, have today set out the details of the €50 million Community Recognition Fund.

The initiative, is designed to support communities across the country that have welcomed and are hosting families and citizens from Ukraine and other countries.

 Among the projects that will be supported under the fund include:

The refurbishment of local sports clubs and facilities

The upgrade of community facilities such as play areas, walkways, parks and community gardens

The purchase of equipment to benefit local clubs, festivals, music and arts organisations

The enhancement of school or parish facilities that are open to the wider community after hours or on weekends

Transport infrastructure such as community vehicles and bus shelters

 The €50 million has been allocated across all local authorities based on the number of new arrivals located there. 

Mayo County Council will receive 2.3 million euro under today’s announcement, Roscommon County Council  - 690.000 euro, Sligo County Council – 1.4 million euro, Galway City Council  - 1.9 million euro and Galway county council – 1.3 million euro, and Leitrim county Council – 2.2 million euro

The funding will be drawn down over 2023 and 2024.

 Projects will be delivered by the local authorities in conjunction with community organisations.



Latest News