On our lunchtime news today we will reveal the 2022 Mayo Person of the Year Award winner and the Meitheal Award winner.

The annual awards are organised by the Mayo Association in Dublin and have been in existence for the last sixty years.

The Mayo Person of the Year award is presented annually to a person who has made an exceptional contribution to Mayo or its people, locally nationally or internationally.

Recipients over the years include people like the late Monsignor James Horan, former President of Ireland - Mary Robinson, former Taoiseach- Enda Kenny and even a man in line for sainthood, Attymass native international Rosary priest Fr Patrick Peyton, among many others.

A panel of three independent adjudicators have reviewed the many entries for the prestigious 2022 titles.

The Meitheal of the Year award will go  to a voluntary group or organisation based in Mayo, and who, in the opinion of the adjudicators, have achieved the greatest distinction or done most for the county or its people.

The 2022 awards luncheon, where both awards will be presented, will be hosted at the Intercontinental Hotel in Ballsbridge on Friday, February 3rd.

On Midwest Radio’s Lunchtime News today at 1pm, Noel Howley of the Mayo Association in Dublin will announce the 2022 Mayo Person of the Year and the Meitheal Award winners.



Latest News