The Joint Committee on Foreign Affairs and Defence has called for the expulsion of officials and operatives attached to the Embassy of Russia in Ireland.

This comes following Russia’s recent releasing of a list containing 52 Irish officials banned from entering the country

The list was published in today’s Irish Independent and contains no members of the Green Party – despite being the junior partner in the Irish government.

Nobody from Sinn Fein has made the list either.

Fianna Fail Senator Lisa Chambers and Fianna Gael Deputies Alan Dillon and Michael Ring have been listed among many other high profile politicians and will no longer be allowed entry into Russia.

Minister for Foreign Affairs Simon Coveney has summoned the Russian Ambassador to the Department of Foreign Affairs.

Chairperson of the Committee, Deputy Charlie Flanagan, has reiterated the Committee’s unwavering support for Ukraine and its people in this time of crisis.


Latest News