The Leas-Cathaoirleach of Mayo County Council, Councillor Michael Kilcoyne, last night officially launched the 28rd annual Mayo People of the Year Awards at a reception in Breaffy House Resort, Castlebar.

The event is organised by RehabCare, Mayo County Council and The Connaught Telegraph.

The awards will be presented at the gala banquet in Breaffy House Hotel, Castlebar, on Friday night, November 11.  

The closing date for the receipt of entries is Wednesday, October 13, and the names of the recipients will be announced on Wednesday, October 19.

Nomination forms are now available from RehabCare, Breaffy Road, Castlebar, from Mayo County Council from the offices of The Connaught Telegraph or online at


Latest News