The Archbishop of Tuam Dr Michael Neary has announced a number of appointments and retirement in the Archdiocese.

Monsignor John O'Boyle, the Diocesan Education secretary, is to retire, and will be temporarily replaced in the post by Mrs Rosaleen Crowe-O'Neill.

Canon Joe Feeney is to retire as Parish Priest of Ballinlough.

Canon Stephen Farragher, parish priest of Ballyhaunis will also take over as parish priest of Ballinlough, while Canon Feeney will remain as assistant priest.

Canon Pádraig Standún, parish priest of Carna and Canon William Reilly, parish priest of An Cnoc, Indreabhán are to retire.

Fr Hughie Loftus - Parish Priest of An Ceathrú Rua, will also take over An Cnoc, Indreabhán, and Fr Clement McManus will be assistant priest in the parish while Fr Shane Sullivan - curate in Castlebar - becomes parish priest of Carna.

Fr Shane Costello- curate in Westport - moves to Castlebar as curate, and Fr Henry O'Connell from York, UK will become curate in Westport, and Fr Christopher Clarke of the Caremlite Order will become curate in Knock.

Elsewhere, Fr Michael Molloy, the parish priest of Moore, will also be Vicar Forane of the Tuam East Deanery, and Fr John Kenny, parish priest of Partry will become Vicar Forane of the Ballinrobe Deanery.

And Sr Mary Kenny of the Presentation Sisters, is retiring from Post Primary Catachetics.

Announcing the changes, Archbishop Neary has thanked those retiring for their generous service - often in challenging times - and has extended his good wishes to those taking up new appointments in the Archdiocese of Tuam.