The Minister for Rural and Community Development, Heather Humphreys, has today announced the appointment of a new Board to the Western Development Commission.

The Western Development Commission has played an important role in promoting economic and social development in the Western region since it was established in 1999. 

Over the past three years in particular, the WDC has established itself as an important contributor to the development of the region, supporting the objectives of Project Ireland 2040 to make Ireland a better country for all.

Gerry Finn, who has been a member of the WDC Board for the last three years, has taken up the position of Chair of the Board.

Other members of the new board include Mary Corcoran, Mary Coyne, Audrey Crummy, Sandra Divilly, former Chief Executive of Mayo County Council Peter Hynes, John Kelleher, Christy Loftus, Henry McGarvey, Mary McKenna, Aisling Meehan and Edmund Jennings.


Latest News