The new cabinet of Ministers has been appointed.

Mayo TD and Fianna Fáil Deputy Leader Dara Calleary has been appointed as Chief Whip in the new coalition government.

The appointment will see the Ballina based TD, assume a super-junior minister role.

He will be a Minister of State assigned to the Department of the Taoiseach and will be responsible for the voting arrangements for the government TDs and ensuring their adherence to the government line.

There had been strong speculation that he would have received a full cabinet ministry and Galway's Anne Rabbitte has also missed out on a senior cabinet position.

Ballindine native and Green Party senator Pippa Hackett has also been appointed as a super junior minister, as has Galway Fine Gael TD Hildegarde Naughton.

Michael Ring has lost his seat at the cabinet, with his former ministry, the Department for Rural Affairs and Community Development, having been disbanded.
Helen McEntee has been promoted to Justice Minister.
Darragh O'Brien is the new Housing Minister with Stephen Donnelly taking over Health.
Fianna Fáil's Norma Foley has been appointed Education Minister with Simon Harris taking over a new Department for Higher Education.
Simon Coveney remains as Foreign Affairs Minister and takes charge of Defence.
Paschal Donohoe is Finance Minister with Michael McGrath taking public expenditure.
Barry Cowen is Agriculture Minister with Heather Humphreys taking Social Protection and rural affairs.
A new Department of Climate Action, Communications networks and Transport goes to Green leader Eamon Ryan.
While Catherine Martin takes charge of Culture, arts, media, tourism, sport and the Gaeltacht.


Latest News