Counting of votes in the Seanad elections gets underway this afternoon, to fill 43 of the 60 seats from vocational panels.

A further 6 seats will be filled from the university panels, with counting for those to start tomorrow. The count takes place at Dublin Castle.

The five successful candidates on the cultural and educational panel are expected to be announced late tonight.The final 11 senators to make up the 26th Seanad will be announced by the incoming Taoiseach of the next government.

A total of 7 Mayo-based candidates are bidding to win Seanad seats

Castlebar’s Lisa Chambers of Fianna Fáil, who lost her Dáil seat last month, is running for one of the five seats on the Cultural and Educational Panel.
Also standing for that panel are two more unsuccessful Dáil candidates, Achill’s Saoirse McHugh of the Green Party and Knock’s Paul Lawless of Aontú.

Councillor Patsy O’Brien is contesting the Industrial and Commercial Panel as an Independent candidate.

Charlestown’s Gerry Murray, a Sinn Féin county councillor, is bidding to take a seat on the Agricultural Panel, along with outgoing Mayo senator, Paddy Burke.
Meanwhile, Castlebar businesswoman Anne Staunton Barrett is bidding to win one of the three seats on the NUI panel.


Two other Mayo natives are also seeking Seanad seats.

Claremorris native, Dublin-based FG Senator Catherine Noone is seeking a seat on the Industrial & Commercial Panel, while the Green Party's Pippa Hackett, a native of Ballindine, is bidding for a seat on the Agricultural Panel.