Mayo has elected a new Sinn Fein TD as well as two Fine Gael TDs and one Fianna Fail.

Shortly after 2am this morning, the seventh and final count was announced in Castlebar with all four seats filled.

Fine Gael's Michael Ring and Sinn Fein's Rose Conway Walsh were elected in the first count early on yesterday, having received over 14,000 votes each.

Fianna Fail's Director of elections Dara Callery was eventually deemed elected on the seventh count.

The Green Party's Saoirse McHugh was eliminated on 6,036, and after that Fine Gael's Michelle Mulherin was eliminated on 7,427 votes.

This gave way for Fine Gael's Alan Dillon and Fianna Fail's Lisa Chamber's to battle it out, with former Mayo footballer Alan Dillon coming out on top with 10,977 votes.


Latest News