Pupils at six more schools in Mayo are to join existing schools across the county in the "Creative Schools" initiative.

The Government has announced that 150 additional schools across Ireland, including 6 in Mayo, have been selected to participate in the initiative, which helps children explore and develop and creative sides, and links them with the arts and creative infrastructure in their local community.

The Mayo schools selected are Foxford NS, Newtownwhite Educate Together, St Feichín's NS, Scoil Chómain Naofa, Scoil Mhuire agus Padraig and St Peter & Paul National school.

The programme is led by the Arts Council, and the schools selected will be provided with a grant of €2,000 and the expertise of a Creative Associate to work with them directly to explore the potential impact of the arts and creativity on school life.

These schools now join eight other schools across Mayo already participating in the Creative Schools initiative -  Barnacogue National School, Gortskehy National School near Hollymount, Killeen National school near Louisburg and in the Castlebar area -  Snugboro National School, St Patrick's De La Salle Boys NS, Castlebar Educate Together, St Anthony's Special School and St Joseph's Secondary School.


Latest News