In the European elections, six of Ireland's 13 MEPs have now been elected.

In the Midlands North West, five candidates are still battling for the three remaining seats.

FG's Mairead McGuinness topped the poll and was elected on Monday afternoon.

Since then, a number of candidates have been eliminated - including Achill native Saoirse McHugh of the Green Party who was eliminated in the early hours of this morning.

That leaves five candidates - with Independent Luke Ming Flanagan, Sinn Fein's Matt Carthy and Fine Gael's Maria Walsh look set to take the remaining three seats.

They're followed by Independent Peter Casey and Fianna Fail's Brendan Smith.

The 12th count is now underway the TF Royal Theatre.


Latest News