Counting has concluded in all of the local electoral areas in Mayo.

In Mayo, Claremorris was the last area to finish up at 3.30am this morning - sitting FG Councillor Patsy O'Brien topped the poll in the 6-seater electoral area, followed by Fianna Fail's Damien Ryan and Independent Councillor Richard Finn.

Fine Gael's Michael Burke, John Cribben and Tom Connolly were all elected on the last count - so it's 4 out of 6 seats for Fine Gael in Claremorris.

Counting also concluded in the 6-seater Ballina area last night, where sitting FG Councillor John O'Hara topped the poll, followed closely by Independent candidate Mark Duffy and sitting councillors Annie May Reape and Michael Loftus of Fianna Fail, Independent Seamus Weir and FG's Jarlath Munnelly.

In the 4-seater Westport area, sitting Independent Councillor Christy Hyland headed the poll, alongside Fine Gael's Peter Flynn, FF's Brendan Mulroy and Independent Johno O'Malley.

Counting had concluded on Saturday in the Castlebar, Swinford and Belmullet areas.


Latest News