Our election coverage here on Midwest Radio will resume at 11 am this morning.

In Mayo, counting has concluded in the Castlebar, Swinford and Belmullet electoral areas.

Counting of votes in the Westport area got underway at 10am, the Ballina count is starting at 11 am followed by the Claremorris count.

In the 4-seater Swinford electoral area, Sinn Fein's Gerry Murray topped the poll, with Fianna Fail's Michael Smyth and John Caulfield and FG's Neil Cruise taking the other 3 seats.

In the 7-seater Castlebar electoral area, Independent Councillor Michael Kilcoyne topped the poll, with three seats each for Fianna Fail and Fine Gael - Blackie Gavin, Al McDonnell and Martin MLoughlin all retained their seats for FF, with Ger Deere, Cyril Burke and newcomer Donna Sheridan taking three seats for FG.

In the 3-seater Belmullet area, FG Councillor Gerry Coyle topped the poll as was elected on the first count, with Fianna Fail's Paul McNamara and Séan Carey taking the other two seats.

No count has yet concluded in any of the three electoral areas of Roscommon.

In, Sligo, counting has concluded in the Sligo-Drumcliffe area, with one count in from Ballymote Tubbercurry - counting for this area resumes at 11am, and counting is already underway this morning in Sligo-Strandhill.

In Galway, the Connermara North and South electoral area counts and Gort / Kinvara concluded last night.

Counting will restart this morning in Athenry/ Oranmore, and counting will start for the Ballinasloe area.

Midwest Radio will continue to bring you news and updates from count centres across the region throughout the day and into tonight, with updates also available on our website www.midwestradio.ie





Latest News