Three Fianna Fail conventions took place over the weekend in county Mayo to select candidates to run for the party in the upcoming local elections.

On Friday night in the Park Hotel in Kiltimagh, there were two contenders for two nominations in the new Swinford Municipal District area. They were sitting councillors John Caulfield and Michael Smyth.

Both men were selected without avote, John is a councillor on Claremorris Municipal District at present, while Michael is in the Ballina Municipal district at present.

The new Swinford Municipal District will return 4 councillors in the May local elections.

In the Twintrees Hotel in Ballina yesterday the selection convention for the new Ballina Municipal District took place.

There were three contenders for three places, so all three were selected without a vote.

They are sitting councillors in the Ballina Municipal District at present Annie Mae Reape and Michael Loftus, and they are joined on the party ticket now by Eamon Moore, who failed to win a municipal district seat in 2014.

6 councillors will be returned to represent the new Ballina Municipal District.

Last night in the McWilliam Park Hotel in Claremorris candidates were selected for Fianna Fail in the new Claremorris Municipal District. Here there were three contenders for two positions and so a vote took place.

Former Knock based councillor Michael Carty and sitting Claremorris councillor Damian Ryan were selected, with Barnacarroll based Michael Nally failing to find a place on the party ticket last night.

 The Claremorris Municipal District will return 6 councillors.

The final Fianna Fail selection Convention take place in Belmullet next Sunday, for the new 3 seater Belmullet Municipal District.

The three sitting Fianna Fail councillors at present on Castlebar Municipal District - Al McDonnell, Blackie Gavin and Martin McLoughlin have been selected to contest  the new 7 seater Castlebar Municipal District and the 4 seater Westport Municipal District has one sitting councillor selected – that’s Brendan Mulroy at present a member of the West Mayo Municipal District.

Even after selection conventions, Fianna Fail Headquarters makes the final decision on how many candidates will contest each Municipal District area for the party.


Latest News