The Midlands-Northwest constituency will remain a 4-seater for the next European elections, but with two less counties.

The European Parliament Constituency Committee has published its report on the European electoral boundaries, with two additional seats for Ireland arising out of the UK leaving the EU.

It recommends that the Midlands-Northwest constituency, which is currently a 4-seater, will continue to elect 4 MEPs, but Laois and Offaly will be moved to the South constituency which gets an extra seat.

That means 13 counties will make up the new Midlands-Northwest constituency.

The second extra seat is allocated to the Dublin constituency.


Latest News