Sacred Heart School Westport

  • The first-year girls at Sacred Heart Schools Westport are national champions, after winning the Bank of Ireland FAI Girls 1st year cup yesterday, defeating Loreto College of Kilkenny by 4-3 following a dramtic penalty shootout.

    16 of the Sacred Heart School’s squad of 17 are members of Westport United.

    A warm welcome home was extended to the champions on their arrival back in Westport last night, including the traditional lap around the town.

  • English starlets Bohunt School, Wokingham dashed the dreams of Sacred Heart School yesterday when they secured top spot in the annual Rod Houston Cup for the first time ever. 

    The Bohunt outfit dispatched the Westport side 2-1 in a tantalising conclusion to the three day tournament as wet and windy conditions hampered proceedings.

    Both teams had convincing wins over the other title contenders St. Ivo School and Ysgol Cymraeg Bro Morgannwg of Barry so it was winner takes all on the third day of action.


    SACRED HEART SCHOOL, WESTPORT | Katie McNea (Captain), Ella McHale, Aenea Breslin, Sophie Scahill, Ashling Duffy, Sorcha McArney, Aoife Staunton, Leila O’Malley, Maggie Chambers, Laura Moran, Cliodhna Casey, Abi Conway, Maya O’Toole, Emily Chambers, Milly Allen, Eimear Geraghty, Laura Masterson

    TEACHERS | Fiona Casey, Annemarie O’Malley

    ASSISANTS | Declan Moran, Megan Nugent, Jennifer Coughlan

  • Lidl Ladies Connacht PPS U14 A Final 
    St Attracta's CS Tubbercurry 3-05 Sacred Heart Westport 2-06