ladies football

  • Crossmolina Lahardane MacHale Rovers lost the All-Ireland Junior football decider to Donoughmore after extra-time.

    It finished AET C.L Rovers 1-11 1-12 Donoughmore.

    Heartbreak for the girls from north Mayo who lost out by the smallest of margins.

  • Details have been confirmed for Crossmolina Lahardane MacHale Rovers All-Ireland Junior semi-final on Sunday.

    The North Mayo ladies will face Edendork St. Malachy’s of Tyrone at 1pm in Pairc Arthur Mallon in Edendork.

    Rovers sealed their place in the last four of the All-Ireland series following their 6-08 to 1-10 win over Oisins in Manchester last Sunday week.

  • Two-time All-Ireland Senior Champions Donoughmore are looking to follow in the footsteps of Aghada in 2017 and Glanmire last year by bringing the Junior silverware back to Cork.


    This is the fifth successive year that a Cork club has contested the All-Ireland Junior Club Final.


    For Mayo Ladies Football, this is also a big day as it marks the first time since 2017, when Carnacon claimed Senior honours, that a team from the county has contested an All-Ireland Club decider.


    The CL MacHale Rovers team is graced by Rachel Kearns, who claimed a TG4 All Star award at the Citywest Hotel last Saturday night.


    No Mayo team has ever won the All-Ireland Junior Club Championship, although Knockmore did contest the 2008 Final.


    Speaking to Midwest Sport, Vincent Gallagher from the MacHale Rovers management team knows it will be a challenging game but says they don’t fear the Munster Champions one bit.


    Sunday’s game will be live on Midwest Radio Sport with Michael D. McAndrew and Sinead Stagg.

  • CLGFC Senior Club championship final,


    Sunday 27th October


    in Saint Croans Enfield Co. Roscommon @ 2.00pm.


    Kilbride Roscommon v Kilkerrin Clonberne Galway

    Green/White                  Red/White

  • There are 13 Connacht teams taking part in the 2019 Ladies football club 7's in Dublin on Saturday the 24th and Sunday the 25th of September.

    There are four teams from Mayo, six from Galway and one apiece from Roscommon, Sligo and Leitrim taking part in the competition.

    Westport ladies have teams playing in both the senior and junior division of the 7's tournament.

    The games on Saturday are taking place in Sylvester' GAA club with the finals set for Croke Park on Sunday the 25th of September.


    Westport            Mayo

    Corofin                 Galway

    Claregalway      Galway

    Annaghdown      Galway

    Claregalway      Galway


    Glenamaddy Williamstown          Galway

    Kilmovee Shamrocks       Mayo

    St. Nathy’s         Sligo


    St Furseys          Galway

    Aughawillan      Leitrim

    Parke Keelogues Crimlin           Mayo

    Westport            Mayo

    St Croans           Roscommon

  • In ladies football, Galway's bid to dethrone All-Ireland champions Dublin has been boosted by the appointment of former Mayo manager Frank Browne as part of Tim Rabbitt's management team.

    Ballyhaunis-based Frank Browne led Mayo to the All-Ireland final in 2017, stepping away after defeat to Dublin.

    Galway will launch their 2020 season with a home game against Waterford on 26th January.


  • Mayo are grouped with Armagh and Tyrone in the opening round of the TG4 All-Ireland Ladies Football Championship.

    All Ireland champions Dublin have been drawn with Waterford and Donegal in group 3.

    In group 2, last year's runners up Galway will play Tipperary and Monaghan.

    Cork will face Cavan and Kerry in group 1, while Mayo are grouped with Armagh and Tyrone in group 4.

    The winners of each group will progress to the All Ireland semi finals


  • Seven Mayo footballers have been named among the top 50 ladies footballers listed in the Irish Independent.

    Mayo legend Cora Staunton tops the charts of journalist Cliona Foley's personal choice of the top ladies footballers over the past 5 decades.

    Mayo's Claire Egan, sisters Christina and Marcella Heffernan, Niamh Kindlon, Helena Lohan and Diana O'Hora are also included in the top 50.

  • Galway’s Kilkerrin Clonberne narrowly miss out on All-Ireland glory at the hands of Mourneabbey.

    It finished in the Senior Ladies Football decider Mourneabbey 2-9 0-14 Kilkerrin Clonberne.

    It is two in-a-row for the Cork outfit after they held on for a famous win against the resilient Galway side.

  • TG4 has today announced a four-year extension of their sponsorship of the All-Ireland ladies football championships.

    The sponsorship deal will now run until the end of the 2022 campaign.

    TG4 have committed to screening 17 championship fixtures during the 2018 season, beginning on 14 July and running until All-Ireland final day on 16 September, when the junior, intermediate and senior deciders will all be carried live.

    The 2018 TG4 All-Ireland ladies football championships will begin on Sunday with the Group 3 meeting of Clare and Down in Kinnegad.

    Following Lidl’s three-year extension of its sponsorship of the National League, this is the second major sponsorship renewal secured by the Ladies Gaelic Football Association in 2018.