• All-Ireland champions Corofin have been rewarded with six players on the first ever AIB GAA Club Players’ football team of the championship.

    The new GAA initiative has reviewed the outstanding performances at provincial and All-Ireland level in the AIB Club Championships with a cross-section of GAA media voting on a final 15.

    Galway and Connacht champions Corofin had to show plenty of resilience en route to Croke Park, but cut loose on St Patrick’s Day where they produced a sensational shooting display against Nemo Rangers to capture the club’s third AIB All-Ireland senior club football title.

    The result is that Liam Silke, Kieran Fitzgerald, Dylan Wall, Michael Farragher, Ian Burke and Martin Farragher have all been awarded a place on the inaugural football team of the championship.

    In an additional coup for the club, Corofin also completely dominate the short list for AIB GAA Club footballer of the year with Ian Burke, Michael Farragher and Liam Silke providing the short list.

    Inspirational dual club Slaughtneil have the next highest representation with four footballers from the Derry club selected. Antóin McMullan, Karl McKaigue, Chrissy McKaigue and Chris Bradley all feature after their exploits over the season.

    Stylish half back James Murray and sharp shooter Eanna O’Connor represent Kildare and Leinster champions Moorefield.

    Despite their misfire in the All-Ireland final, there was still much to admire about Nemo Rangers, particularly in a typically tough Munster campaign, and midfielder Alan O’Connor and full forward Luke Connolly represent the Cork and Munster champions.

    The team is completed by Donegal star Patrick McBrearty who was in sensational form for his club Kilcar over the course of their two matches in the Ulster club championship and was a class apart in the full-forward line.

    Uachtarán Cumann Luthchleas Gael John Horan said: “It’s a great honour for all of those players who have been selected – especially with this being the inaugural year of these awards – and I congratulate them all.

    “The AIB GAA Club Championships continue to grow from strength to strength and these awards are a reflection of that.

    “Every year the club campaign is responsible for some of the high points in the GAA season and it is fitting that we salute the star performers who go to such lengths for the pride of their club jersey. In recognising these outstanding performers we also pay tribute to the clubs who produced them.”

    Coman Goggins, AIB Sports Programme Manager said: “AIB is very proud to celebrate its 27th year sponsoring the club championships and we are delighted to partner with The GAA for the introduction of the AIB GAA Club Players’ Awards. The awards honour some of the greatest club players across Ireland, who have shown immense passion and commitment to their club throughout #TheToughest competition.

    Coman continued: “On behalf of AIB I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate each of the winners and to thank the national and regional sports media for taking the time to cast their votes and for their continued support for the AIB GAA Club Championships.”

    Specially commissioned awards by Jarlath Daly will be presented to the players at a banquet at Croke Park on Saturday, April 21 where the AIB GAA Club Footballer of the Year will be announced live on the night.

    The AIB GAA Club Players’ Awards for Hurling will be announced on April 18.

    The team in full is:


    1. Antóin McMullan (Slaightneil)
    2. Liam Silke (Corofin)
    3. Kieran Fitzgerald (Corofin)
    4. Karl McKaigue (Slaughtneil)
    5. James Murray (Moorefield)
    6. Chrissy McKaigue (Slaughtneil)
    7. Dylan Wall (Corofin)
    8. Alan O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers)
    9. Michael Farragher (Corofin)
    10. Eanna O’Connor (Moorefield
    11. Christopher Bradley (Slaughtneil)
    12. Ian Burke (Corofin)
    13. Patrick McBrearty (Kilcar)
    14. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers)
    15. Martin Farragher (Corofin)


    Ian Burke (Corofin), Michael Farragher (Corofin), Liam Silke (Corofin)

  • All roads lead to the Galway village of Corofin tomorrow (Sunday) for the 2018 Connacht Spring Show.

    Traffic on the approach roads is expected to be heavy, and traffic delays in the village itself are anticipated.

    However, show organiser Ray McHugh says there will be plenty of carparking spaces both sides of the Showgrounds.

    Sheep Shearing is the highlight of the event that also includes Machinery and Vintage displays, Dog and poultry shows music, cookery and children’s entertainment

  • Galway senior club champions Corofin will meet Gweedore of Donegal next Saturday in the AIB All-Ireland senior club semi-final.

    That game has been fixed for Carrick-on-Shannon at 1.30 on Saturday.

  • Back-to-back All-Ireland Club Football champions Corofin are retaining their management team for the coming season.

    Kevin O'Brien's agreed to stay in charge of the Galway side as they bid for three successive national crowns.

    David Morris, Ger Keane, Terry Paine, David Comer, Joe Canney and Michael Comer will stay on board as backroom team.



  • Corofin’s Kieran Molloy was named as overall Footballer of the Year at the AIB GAA Club Players’ Awards held at Croke Park on Saturday night.

    Kieran Molloy was described as "a thorn in the side of every opponent" as his Galway club went on to win  back to back AIB All-Ireland club football titles on St Patrick's Day.

    The flying wing back was earlier unveiled as one of seven Corofin players on the overall best 15 of the provincial and All-Ireland stage of the club championship.




  • Having won their first county senior title this year, Padraig Pearses of Roscommon take on All-Ireland champions Corofin this Sunday in the AIB Connacht Club senior football final.

    The game is at 2 o'clock in Tuam Stadium.

    Padraig Pearse's Niall Daly says it's daunting, but they're looking forward to the challenge of meeting with reigning champions....


  • This year’s AIB GAA Club Players' Awards  reflect the dominance of All-Ireland champions Corofin, who have seven players selected, including Gary Sice and Kieran Molloy, who are both nominated for Footballer of the Year.

    The Corofin duo are joined by Gweedore star Kevin Cassidy in the short list announced for the 2019 AIB GAA Club Footballer of the Year award.

    The two were monumental figures for the Galway champions who successfully retained their All-Ireland club title on St Patrick's Day.

    The Club Player's Awards for football will be presented at a banquet in Croke Park this Saturday evening, and goalkeeper Bernard Power, defender Liam Silke, midfielder Daithi Burke, and forwards Jason Leonard and Martin Farragher complete the 7-strong Corofin representation.