Cork GAA

  • Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Football Championship


    Cork 4-12 Mayo 1-13

  • A repeat of the 2016 decider sees holders Cork, chasing six-in-a-row, up against Mayo at the penultimate stage of the competition.

    This is also a repeat of last year’s TG4 All-Ireland semi-final between the counties and the fixture will provide a pretty accurate gauge of both teams’ progress in 2018.

    Mayo have been boosted by the return to the squad of experienced defender Martha Carter but manager Peter Leahy indicated this week that she won’t feature in the concluding stages of the League.

    Cora Staunton is back in Ireland following a successful stint with GWS Giants in the Women’s AFL, and Leahy will hope that she features during the summer, while veteran goalkeeper Yvonne Byrne is another player yet to declare her intentions for 2018.

    Despite Staunton’s absence, Mayo have progressed to a League semi-final and with a strong spread of scorers throughout the team.

    Sarah Rowe has emerged as a real leader in attack and she’s flanked in an impressive full-forward line by the Kelly sisters, Niamh and Grace.

    Cork have real firepower of their own to call upon as Eimear Scally and Orla Finn form two-thirds of a potentially lethal inside line.

    The O’Sullivan sisters, Doireann and Ciara, line out in the half-forward line, with Aisling Hutchings and Brid O’Sullivan anchoring midfield.

    Cork won the group fixture between the counties but Leahy will hope that his players learned the lessons from that outing as they prepare to face Ephie Fitzgerald’s champions.

    Cork: M O’Brien; M Ambrose, E Meaney, E Spillane; M O’Callaghan, M Duggan, S Kelly; A Hutchings, B O’Sullivan; C O’Sullivan, D O’Sullivan, O Farmer; L Coppinger, E Scally, O Finn.

    Mayo: S Murphy; O Conlon, S Tierney, S Ludden; D Caldwell, E Lowther, D Hughes; C McManamon, A Gilroy; F McHale, F Doherty, S Cafferky; N Kelly, S Rowe, G Kelly.

  • The Mayo Ladies will aim to secure their place in the National League Division 1 football final on Sunday when they face the reigning champions Cork.

    The semi-final throws in at 3pm on Sunday in Birr, Co. Offaly.

  • The Mayo minors face Cork in the All Ireland Minor semi final tomorrow in Croke Park at 3pm.


    Following a thrilling three point win over Dublin in the quarter finals Mayo are now just one game away from a first Minor final since 2013.


    The team lines out as follows.


    1. Luke Jennings - Ballinrobe
      2. Alfie Morrison - Louisburgh
      3. Oisin Tunney - Breaffy
      4. Aidan Cosgrove - Kiltimagh
      5. Shaun Dempsey - Balla
      6. Ruairi Keane - Mayo Gaels
      7. Eoin Gilraine - Ballinrobe
      8. Paddy Heneghan - Castlebar Mitchels
      9. Ethan Henry - Mayo Gaels
      10. Ciaran Mylett - Castlebar Mitchels
      11. Owen McHale - Belmullet
      12. Dylan Thornton - Ballina Stephenites
      13. Paul Walsh - Castlebar Mitchels
      14. Mark Tighe - Cill Chomain
      15. Frank Irwin - Ballina Stephenites
  • There were goals galore at Pairc Ui Rinn as Roscommon beat Cork.

    It ended 4-09 to 3-09 in their final Super 8's game.

    Goals from Enda Smith, Shane Killoran and two from Brian Stack helped the Rossies to their first win in the Super 8s.

    Both teams went into the games already being eliminated.

  • Roscommon Manager Kevin McStay has tonight named his team to play Cork in the final round of the Allianz National Football League Division 2.

    The game is scheduled to be played in Dr Hyde Park Roscommon at 3pm on Sunday.

    The announcement was made at the very well attended Club Rossie business event in the Abbey Hotel Roscommon.  

    Despite this weekend being a starred weekend of club games Kevin Mc Stay and his management team have released the maximum number of players back to their clubs and has just named a match day squad of 23 for Sunday’s game.

    Colm Lavin reclaims the number one jersey while Ultan Harney makes a welcome return after injury to take the centre halfback position. The half back line has totally changed from last week as Conor Daly replaces his brother Ronan at number 5 while Brian Stack moves from 6 to number 7 in place of Niall Daly.

    The team and subs are as follows



    Colm Lavin



    David Murray



    Peter Domican



    Fergal Lennon



    Conor Daly



    Ultan Harney



    Brian Stack



    Tadhg O Rourke



    Cathal Compton



    Ciaráin Murtagh



    Niall Kilroy



    Conor Devaney (Capt.)



    Donie Smith



    Ciaran Lennon



    Diarmuid Murtagh









    James Featherston




    Cathal Cregg




    Enda Smith




    Fintan Cregg




    Ian Kilbride




    Niall Daly




    Ronan Daly




    Sean Mc Dermott



  • Roscommon-native James McDermott, is set to become the first Rossie since 2011 to win a Cork SFC title.

    The 31-year-old will be at midfield for reigning Cork and Munster champions Nemo Rangers in their match against Duhallow on Sunday at Páirc Uí Rinn which throws-in at 4pm.

    Niall Daly is the last Rossie to win a Cork SFC title, winning on that occasion with UCC.