Connacht Final

  • A decision on whether or not Dr Hyde Park can stage the Connacht Senior Football Final will be made after this Saturday’s Connacht Senior Semi Final between Roscommon and Leitrim.

    A decision on the matter was deferred at a meeting of the Connacht Council last night.

    If Roscommon best Leitrim and Galway overcome Sligo next week, the rota system in place currently would mean the Final would usually be slated in for Dr Hyde Park.

    However reports yesterday suggest that the Roscommon venue could be in danger of losing the game due to concerns over the venue, including safety. Hyde Park currently has capacity for 18,000 supporters.

    No decision will be taken on the matter until after Saturday’s game.

  • Connacht Senior Football Final
    Galway 0-16 
    Roscommon 2-06

  • The Galway team to face Roscommon is

    1. Rory Lavelle
    2. Declan Kyne
    3. Sean Andy O’Ceallaigh
    4. David Wynne
    5. Cathal Sweeney
    6. Gareth Bradshaw
    7. Sean Kelly
    8. Paul Conroy
    9. Thomas Flynn
    10. Eamon Brannigan
    11. Shane Walsh
    12. Johnny Heaney
    13. Ian Burke
    14. Damien Comer
    15. Barry McHugh
  • Roscommon manager Kevin McStay has named an unchanged side for Sunday's Connacht football final with Galway.

    McStay has seen no reason to alter the starting fifteen that helped the Rossies to a comfortable semi final win over Leitrim last time out.

    12 of the 15 started last year's provincial final win over Galway.


      1. Colm Lavin (Éire Óg)

    2. David Murray (Padraig Pearses) 3.Peter Domican (St Brigid’s) 4. Niall McInerney (St Brigid’s)

    5. John McManus (Roscommon Gaels) 6. Fintan Cregg (Elphin) 7. Brian Stack (St Brigid’s)

      8. Cathal Compton (Strokestown) 9. Tadgh O’Rourke (Tulsk)

    10. Ciarán Murtagh (St Faithleach’s)  11. Enda Smith (Boyle) 12 Conor Devaney (Kilbride)

    13. Donie Smith (Boyle) 14. Diarmuid Murtagh - St. Faithleach’s 15. Niall Kilroy - Fuerty

  • Connacht U20 Football Final 
    Mayo 3-16 
    Roscommon 1-06


    Mayo face Galway in the Connacht Junior final on Sunday at 1pm in Pearse Stadium, Salthill.

    The Mayo team is as follows -  

    1. Míchéal Schlingermann - Kiltimagh
    2. Ronan Conlon - Bonniconlon
    3. David Lydon - Kiltimagh
    4. Barry Leonard - Lahardane
    5. Barry Duffy - Balla
    6. Cian Bourke - Ardnaree Sarsfields
    7. Conor Igoe - Bonniconlon
    8. Sean Walsh - Kiltimagh
    9. Tomás Fahey - Kilmaine(C)
    10. Liam Moran - Swinford
    11. Adrian Leonard - Lahardane
    12. Brendan Carr - Ardagh
    13. Michael McGarry - Eastern Gaels
    14. Keith Hopkins - Crossmolina Deel Rovers
    15. Darragh Keavney - Kilmeena

  • The Mayo U20's head to Tuam this evening to face Galway in the Connacht U20 Final.

    Manager Mike Solan will be looking to win his 3rd Connacht title in four years following wins in 2016 & 2018.

    Following a big win over Sligo last week it's no surprise he has named an unchanged team for this evening' final.

    1. Jamie McNicholas - Kiltimagh
    2. Jack Coyne - Ballyhaunis
    3. Rory Brickenden - Westport
    4. Oisin Mullin - Kilmaine
    5. Aaron McDonnell - Ballinrobe
    6. Conor Beirne - Breaffy
    7. Eoghan McLaughlin - Westport
    8. Evan O’Brien - Ballinrobe
    9. Gavin Durcan - Castlebar Mitchels
    10. John Gallagher - Mayo Gaels
    11. Paul Towey - Charlestown
    12. Paddy Goldrick - Charlestown
    13. Aiden Orme - Knockmore
    14. Stephen McGreal - Claremorris
    15. Tommy Conroy - The Neale


    Midwest Radio will have full live commentary of this evening's match.


  • Roscommon and Galway have named their teams ahead of Sunday's Connacht Senior Football Final at Salthill.

    Rossies boss Anthony Cunningham has made three changes with Diarmuid Murtagh, Conor Devaney and captain Enda Smith coming into the team.

    Hubert D'Arcy, Andrew Glennon and Ultan Harney drop out of the side.

    Gary O'Donnell is in for Kieran Molloy in the Galway half-back line in the only change from their semi-final victory over Sligo.


    The Roscommon team is Darren O’Malley, David Murray, San Mullooly, Conor Daly, Niall Daly, Conor Hussey, Ronan Daly, Tadgh O’Rourke, Shane Killoran, Conor Devaney, Cathal Cregg, Niall Kilroy, Diarmuid Murtagh, Conor Cox, Enda Smith.

    The Galway team - Bernard Power, Eoghan Kerin, Seán Andy Ó Ceallaigh, Liam Silke, Gary O’Donnell, Gareth Bradshaw, John Daly, Thomas Flynn, Fiontán Ó’Curraoin, Shane Walsh, Michael Daly, Johnny Heaney, Antaine Ó’Laoi, Ian Burke, Danny Cummins


  • Roscommon manager Kevin McStay appears to be standing firm in his side's bid to play the Connacht Football Final at Dr Hyde Park.

    The game is due to be played there as per the rota system in Connacht, but there's been suggestions the fixture could be moved to McHale Park due to capacity and safety issues.

    Speaking after his side's semi-final win over Leitrim, McStay says his team will line-out at Hyde Park, and hopes whoever their opponents are will join them.



    Figure Dancing: MAYO: Louisburgh GAA.

    Solo Singing: GALWAY: Abbeyknockmoy GAA, Ellen Keane.

    Recitation: ROSCOMMON: Elphin GAA, Evan Gunn.

    Ballad Group: GALWAY: Abbeyknockmoy GAA.

    Tráth na gCeist:

    1st: GALWAY: Menlough/Skehana GAA.

    2nd: ROSCOMMON: Kilglass GAA.

    3rd: MAYO: Claremorris GAA.

    Novelty Act: ROSCOMMON: St. Dominic’s GAA.

    Instrumental Music: MAYO: Ballintubber GAA.

    Set Dancing: GALWAY: Abbeyknockmoy GAA.


    The All Ireland Scór na nÓg Final takes place in the INEC, Killarney on February 1st.

  • Sligo and Leitrim will play in a tier 2 football competition next year if the proposal is passed at a special sitting of the GAA Congress in Pairc Ui Chaoimh on Saturday.

    Under the proposal all National League Division 3 and 4 Counties except those who qualified for their respective Provincial Championship Finals or won the previous year’s Tier 2 Championship will play in the second tier.

    It would mean both Sligo and Leitrim must reach a Connacht final to stay in the Sam Maguire competition.

  • FAI Schools Tom Ticher Junior Connacht Cup Final 
    St Gerald's College Castlebar 3-2 St Louis CS Kiltimagh 

    All-Ireland Semi-Final fixture is on Tuesday - St Gerald's v Rosses CS at 1pm in Ray McSharry Park Sligo

  • Ultan Harney has been ruled out of Sunday's Connacht Senior Football Final through injury. The Clann na nGael player sustained knee ligament damaged in training on Saturday and is likely to be ruled out of action for a few months at least. 

    Meanwhile Galway manager Kevin Walsh is planning without injured captain Damien Comer for Sunday's Connacht Final against Roscommon. 

    The final at Pearse Stadium will come too soon for the big full forward who is continuing his recovery from ankle surgery.