• Four Mayo photographers have advanced to the next stage of the Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies (DIAS) ‘Reach for the Stars’ astrophotography competition launched by the Tanaiste Leo Varadkar.

     ‘Reach for the Stars’ aims to find the best astro-photographs taken in Ireland over the past year. While a high-profile judging panel will select the overall winning entries, an online vote is running over the coming weeks, so members of the public can also have their say.

    The four Mayo photographers included in the online public vote are: Conor Dore from Newport, Jonathan Geary from Newport, Mick Bohan from Castlebar and Damien Feeney from Ballina.

     Members of the public can now view all images shortlisted for the competition and cast their vote for their favourite via an online gallery on the DIAS website. Over 170 images have been shortlisted this year – the inaugural year of the competition. The winning images selected by the judging panel and the public vote will be announced towards the end of May. 

     Votes for the Public Choice Award are restricted to one vote per person, and voting will close at midnight on Sunday, 9th May 2021.

     Further information, including the online gallery and background information on the competition, is available at: