Anne Rabbitte

  • TDs Billy Kelleher and Anne Rabbitte have been added to the Fianna Fáil ticket for the European elections.

    Deputy Kelleher will contest in Ireland South alongside Councillor Malcolm Byrne.

    While Anne Rabbitte will run in the Midlands North West constituency with TD Brendan Smyth.

    The two TDs were added to the tickets after losing in their local selection conventions.

  • The new Junior Ministers will get to work this morning after being appointed yesterday evening, causing some political unrest.

    There are seven from Fianna Fail, seven from Fine Gael and three from the Green Party.

    There are no additional Junior Ministers in Mayo after speculation linking Fianna Fail Senator Lisa Chambers and Fine Gael’s Michael Ring and Alan Dillon.

    Dara Calleary, the Government Chief Whip, has been given the extra responsibility of sport and the Gaeltacht.

    High profile TDs Jim O'Callaghan, Joe McHugh and John Paul Phelan all turned down offers of Junior Ministries.

    While there's been sharp criticism of Taoiseach Micheál Martin from TD Michael Moynihan, who served as Fianna Fáil whip in the last Dáil.

    He's said the Taoiseach has insulted him and the entire community of northwest Cork by passing him over for a role.

    In this region Galway Fianna Fail Deputy Anne Rabbitte and Fine Gael’s Frank Feighan in Sligo-Leitrim have both been given Junior Ministries.

    For Fine Gael there are promotions for Martin Heydon, Colm Brophy, and Peter Burke.

    Patrick O'Donovan and Damien English are retained as Junior Ministers while Josepha Madigan gets a role after being demoted from cabinet.

    The Fianna Fáil appointments sought to address some of the regional imbalance of cabinet.

    Waterford's Mary Butler, Donegal's Charlie McConalogue and Limerick's Niall Collins all get ministries.

    Jack Chambers and Thomas Byrne have been promoted as has Robert Troy.

    The Greens have appointed Carlow Kilkenny TD Malcolm Noonan alongside Dublin TDs Joe O'Brien and Ossian Smyth.

  • A new Covid-19 walk-in test centre is being established in Ballinasloe.

    The test centre will be set up in the Town Hall / Library Carpark in Ballinasloe this weekend.

    Minister Anne Rabbitte the walk-in test centre will be in Ballinasloe from this Friday through until Sunday, and has thanked the pace at which NPHET and public health officials are working to get these up and running.

    This test centre is operated on a walk-in, no appointment necessary basis and it’s free.

    Minister Rabbitte say's we’ve already seen how beneficial these centres are when set up elsewhere.