AlI-Ireland Football Championship

  • Galway and Dublin have named their teams ahead of their All-Ireland Football Championship semi-final this evening.


    Dublin have made 9 changes to last weeks win over Roscommon - which includes a completely revamped forward line.


    Niall Scully, Ciaran Kilkenny and Brian howard occupy the new-look half forward line, with Con' O'Callaghan, Dean Rock and Paul Mannion playing in front.


    Johhny Cooper and James McCarthy bolster the Dubs half back line with Brian Fenton coming into midfield.


    The Tribesmen make just one change from their loss to Monaghan with Patrick Sweeney coming in at centre-forward in the place of Adrian Varley.


    1. Ruairí Lavelle
    2. Declan Kyne
    3. Seán Andy Ó Ceallaigh
    4. Eoghan Kerin
    5. Cathal Sweeney
    6. Gareth Bradshaw
    7. Gary O’Donnell
    8. Peter Cooke
    9. Thomas Flynn
    10. Shane Walsh
    11. Patrick Sweeney
    12. Seán Kelly
    13. Ian Burke
    14. Damien Comer (Captain)
    15. Eamonn Brannigan
  • Sligo are the first team that have been forced to give a walkover in the football championship, due to Covid-19.

    They've conceded their Connacht semi final on Saturday to Galway, after several members of their bubble tested positive for the virus.

    A statement from the Sligo county board last night says they have taken the "tough decision" to withdraw from this weekend's game, adding that the players and management are "hugely disappointed" at the unavailability of postponement.

    Galway now go straight through to the Connacht final on Sunday the 15th, where they will take on either Mayo or Roscommon.

    The Sligo County Board say that all affected by Covid-19 in the panel are following appropriate guidelines, and are doing well.