Midwest Radio

Irish squads named for UEFA Development Tournament in Mayo next week

The Irish squads have been named for the UEFA Development Tournaments in Mayo next week.

Ireland Women's U16 Head Coach Sharon Boyle has named her squad for the games against Northern Ireland (Monday, May 15), Lithuania (Wednesday, May 17) and Denmark (Friday, May 19).

The UEFA WU16 Development Tournament will help prepare all four sides for next season's UEFA WU17 Championships Qualifying Round.

Boyle is looking forward to working with the talented young group, many of whom at still only 14, although only three of the players who are still eligible for this group from this week's UEFA WU17 Championships Finals will be included in the Mayo tournament.

Ireland U16 Head Coach Paul Osam's squad will face Northern Ireland (Sunday, May 21), Kosovo (Tuesday, May 23) and Denmark (Thursday, May 25) in their tournament.

Osam will use a new-look squad as a number of players are currently in Colin O'Brien's U17 squad at the UEFA U17 Championships Finals in Croatia and will not be included in Mayo while some UK-based players are ruled out due to exams and Sean Brennan has an injury presently. 

: Rachael Kelly (Shelbourne), Karen Connolly (Cregmore Galway)
Defenders: Aoife Brophy (Peamount United), Nicole Smyth (Lucan United), Leah Brady (Lucan United), Aoife Lynagh (Salthill Devon), Griffin (Shelbourne), Kate McGlenglan (Greencastle), Kayla Brady (Lucan United)
Midfielders: Aoife Slattery (Ferrybank), Mia Dodd (Shelbourne), Nadine Clare (Enniskerry), Sinead Donavan (Cregmore Galway), Jessica Ziu (Shelbourne)
Forwards: Zara Foley (Lakewood), Amy Boyle Carr (Donegal Town), Emily Whelan (Shelbourne), Lucia Labato (Salthill Devon), Louise Masterson (Peamount United), Isibeal Atkinson (Enniskerry)


UEFA Women's U16 Development Tournament
Monday, May 15
Republic of Ireland v Northern Ireland, Westport United (18:30)
Lithuania v Denmark, Solar 21 Park, Castlebar (14:00)

Wednesday, May 17
Republic of Ireland v Lithuania, Solar 21 Park, Castlebar (18:30)
Denmark v Northern Ireland, Ballina (14:00)

Friday, May 19
Denmark v Republic of Ireland, Westport United (12.00)
Northern Ireland v Lithuania, Manulla (10.00)


: Sean Bohan (Bohemians), Harry Clarke (St Patricks Athletic)
Defenders: Max Murphy (Bray Wanderers), Conor O'Reilly (Finn Harps), Kevin O'Reilly (St Patrick's Athletic), Oisin McEntee (Malahide United), Cian Trehy (Bohemians), Aaron Mulligan (Monaghan Cavan FP), Ray O'Sullivan (St Kevin's Boys)
Midfielders: Jason Knight (Cabinteely), Ross Tierney (St Kevin's Boys), Barry Coffey (Nenagh FC), Sean Mahon (St Patrick's Athletic), Jack Moylan (Bohemians), Sean Kennedy (Tralee Dynamos)
Forwards: Marc Walsh (Finn Harps), Ciaran Brennan (Waterford FC), Troy Parrott (Belvedere), Matthew Everitt (Brighton), Conor Grant (Shamrock Rovers)



UEFA U16 Development Tournament
Sunday, May 21
Republic of Ireland v Northern Ireland, Westport United (15:00
Kosovo v Denmark, Ballina (18:30)

Tuesday, May 23
Republic of Ireland v Kosovo, Solar 21 Park, Castlebar (18:30)
Denmark v Northern Ireland, Manulla (14:00)

Thursday, May 25
Denmark v Republic of Ireland, Solar 21 Park, Castlebar (10:00)
Northern Ireland v Kosovo, Westport United (10:00)


Midwest Radio 96.1fm | Clare St, Ballyhaunis, Co. Mayo, Ireland Tel: +00353 (0) 818 300055 | Fax: +00353 (0) 9496 30285 | Email: studio@midwestradio.ie