The All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship will undergo one of the biggest changes in the competition's history from next year.

Delegates at today's GAA Special Congress have narrowly approved a radically new structure, which sees the Munster and Leinster Championships played in a five-team round robin format.

The top two contest the provincial finals, with the winners reaching the All-Ireland semi-finals and the losers playing in the quarters.

A new Tier 2 competition featuring six counties will also be played in a round robin format.

The top two teams there will play the 3rd place teams in the provincial championship for a place in the All-Ireland quarter-finals.

Elsewhere a motion that sees Galway and Ulster teams play in the Leinster Under 21 Hurling Championship has also been passed.

The semi-finals have been retained, with the provincial finalists in Munster and Leinster qualifying for the last four.

Meanwhile in the minor championships, the quarter-final stage will now feature a mini round-robin containing Galway and the beaten provincial finalists.



Latest Sport