Midwest Radio

Three Mayo Senators declare who will they will support in FG leadership contest


It’s just 13 hours since Mayo’s Enda Kenny stepped down as leader of Fine Gael, and it’s been a busy morning of political announcements.

There are currently just two declared candidates for the party leadership – Simon Coveney and Leo Varadker.

Both Tanaiste Frances Fitzgerald and Education Minister Richard Bruton – who had been named as possible candidates – have ruled themselves out of the race to succeed Mr Kenny, who was party leader for the past 15 years.

Housing Minister Simon Coveney has officially launched his bid to become the next leader of Fine Gael.

He said he wants to heal the divisions that have opened in Ireland over the last decade.

He's also unveiled his election posters and is filing his nomination papers.

The other expected candidate, Social Protection Minister Leo Varadkar has yet to speak to the press but will launch his campaign website later.

Leo Varadker is slightly ahead in the polls so far.

Midwest News has contacted the Mayo-based FG parliamentary party members today to ask who they will support in the leadership race.

The three Mayo-based Senators have indicated how they will vote, while Enda Kenny was unavailable for comment and Minister Michael Ring said he will declare his intentions over the weekend.

Of those that have already nailed their colours to the mast, Senator John O’Mahony will vote for Simon Coveney, while both Michelle Mulherin and Paddy Burke are opting for Leo Varadker.


Midwest Radio 96.1fm | Clare St, Ballyhaunis, Co. Mayo, Ireland Tel: +00353 (0) 818 300055 | Fax: +00353 (0) 9496 30285 | Email: studio@midwestradio.ie