Midwest Radio

13 more Mayo schools to be included in DEIS scheme

The Education Minister says more funding will be provided to DEIS schools in disadvantaged areas under a new plan announced yesterday evening.

It sets out new targets to improve literacy and numeracy, improve school completion rates, and to improve progression to further and higher education.

Over 100 primary and post-primary schools across the country are expected to get additional resources and supports.

11 more primary schools in Co Mayo and two post-primary schools in the county will be included in the DEIS scheme.

The primary schools are  -  Killocrann NS, Castlehill, Ballina;  Cloonlyon NS, Charlestown; Inver National School in north Mayo; Killaser NS, Swinford; Cloonfad NS, Ballhaunis; SN Cill Mhuire, Crossmolina; Killeenduff NS, Easkey; St. Treasa's NS, Kilkelly; Scoil Néifinn, Keenagh; Clogher NS, Claremorris and Lisaniska NS, Foxford.

Two Mayo post primary schools - Coláiste Pobail Acla, Polranny, Achill and Our Lady's Secondary School in Belmullet have also been named as new DEIS schools.

Minister of State Michael Ring says it’s welcome news to see some schools that were left out in the past are now being recognised with DEIS status.


Midwest Radio 96.1fm | Clare St, Ballyhaunis, Co. Mayo, Ireland Tel: +00353 (0) 818 300055 | Fax: +00353 (0) 9496 30285 | Email: studio@midwestradio.ie