The recipients of the 2018 Mayo People of the Year Awards were announced at a press conference at Breaffy House Hotel Castebar, last night.

The event, now in its 26th year, is organised annually by Mayo RehabCare, Mayo County Council and The Connaught Telegraph. 

The awards will be presented at the gala banquet in Breaffy House Hotel, Castlebar, on Friday night, November 23, and tickets for the event are now available from Edel Cadden at RehabCare, Breaffy Road, Castlebar.  

The recipients in the various categories are:


Joint Young Person of the Year

Sara McFadden, from Drumdaff, Turlough, Castlebar.

Jack Cronin Ballina.

Special Merit Award

Kaya Jelinaka

Youth Club of the Year

Ardagh Foroige Club

Sports Club of the Year

Claremorris Colts RFC and founding members

Mayo Diaspora Award

Martin Maloney Pulathomas, Belmullet /UK

Business Community Liaison Award

Brendan Mellett  Claremorris

Gradam na Gaeilge Award

Oonagh Ní Chéilleachair Uí Shúilleabháin has been nominated posthumously for the award


Hall of Fame

Sean Horkan Castlebar.

Mayo Awards

Claremorris Agricultural Show Committee 

The former Castlebar St. Patrick’s Day Committee

Castlebar Le Cheile Centre

Dublin2Mayo Tractor Run committee

Marita Murtagh 

Clodagh Campion

Lahardane Live

Shelia Moffatt

Steve Dunford

Ciarán Ó Murchú

John Niland 




Latest News