Listowel in Co. Kerry has been named Ireland's overall tidiest town for 2018.

This is the 60th year of the Tidy Towns awards, and Minister Michael Ring announced the winners in Dublin at lunchtime - he also announced a special allocation of €1.4 million to support the work of individual Tidy Towns committees around the country, to mark the 60th anniversary.

Westport was among the national winners, being named Ireland's Tidiest Large Town  - for the second year running.

Minister Ring presented the committee from his hometown with a trophy and €5,000 euro prize money.

Castlebar has secured a Gold Medal award for the first time, while Westport also retained its gold medal award, which is worth €900.

Ballina, Belmullet and Mulranny all secured Bronze awards worth €400.

Westport was the county winner for Mayo, with Mulranny highly commended, and Castlebar was commended.

Westport also won the Young Tidy Towns Committee award of €500.

Binghamstown won the Endeavour award for Mayo and €500, while Belmullet was highly commended in the Gaeltacht award and received €1,000.

36 communities from across Co Mayo entered the competition this year.


Latest News