Rural counties in the West will see the largest number of Post Office closures, according to the list of 159 Post Offices that was published yesterday by An Post.

These postmasters are set to retire, and their business will be moved to Post Offices in neighbouring towns and villages, as part of a consolidation of the Post Office network.

Galway is top of the list, with 18 Post Offices closing, while Co Mayo will lose 11 Post Offices in

Ballindine, Ballyglass, Belcarra, Carrowmore-Lacken, Cross, Doocastle, Finney, Hollymount, Kilmaine, Partry and Scardaun.

In Roscommon, the post offices in Athleague, Cornafulla, Granlahan, Loughglynn and Knockvicar will close, while in Sligo, those earmarked for closure are Ballinafad, Ballinfull, Dromard, Drumcliffe, Gurteen and Monasteraden.

Independent Senator Marie-Louise O'Donnell from Mayo says it's bad news for local communities:


Latest News